Auto Insurance in Georgia
Georgia auto insurance is changing in many ways. The state has recently implemented a new system that will allow them to track insured drivers and their insurance policies through a computer database. This system is helping to cut down the number of uninsured drivers in the state of Georgia. By law, the coverage required is minimal, but still essential. $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for injury coverage, along with $25,000 property damage coverage per accident is required to drive legally in Georgia.
It's not a lot of coverage, so it is always recommended that you purchase more than the minimum amount, as long as you can afford it. If you take the time to shop around and compare rates, you might be surprised at how affordable higher coverage and better policies can be. Auto insurance in Georgia is determined much the same as it is in other states. By assessing the risk of various factors, insurance companies determine what rate you should be charged based on the level of risk you present.
Your driving record, vehicle type, and the amount of coverage you desire will all influence how much you will pay for auto insurance. However, there are discounts available on auto insurance in Georgia, which can help offset these costs for you.