Auto Insurance in Florida
The state of Florida is very lenient with their required auto insurance coverage. If you have no prior accidents on your record, you are only mandated to have $10,000 of coverage for both personal injury protection and property damage. If you have violations or accidents on your record, you may be required to purchase liability coverage as well, but that will depend on the specific situation.
If you are insuring a dually truck or RV that has more than 4 wheels, you need to consult with the Florida Department of Insurance. There are special requirements for this type of vehicle, and only licensed companies can sell you the insurance that you need. Without proper auto insurance in Florida, you can be fined up to $500 and face license suspension or revocation.
Aside from all that, if you don't have enough coverage, you could face lawsuits or financial expenses beyond your means by not being properly insured. You should always purchase as much coverage as you need to be financially secure, and no less. If you were in an accident with $50,000 in damages, for example, but insurance only covered half, would you be able to come up with the other half of the money ($25,000) out of nowhere? Not many people can, which is why insurance is there for you.
By shopping around you might realize that you really can afford much more coverage than you initially thought possible